Meet the Team

COLLEGE MANAGERS

  • David Dowdles – Principal – david.dowdles@thebcc.ac.uk
  • Rebecca Datta – Bursar – rebecca.datta@thebcc.ac.uk
  • Frances Hill – Quality Manager, Learner Journey – frances.hill@thebcc.ac.uk
  • Francis Williams – Quality Manager, Learner Performance – francis.williams@thebcc.ac.uk
  • David Pearham – Senior Manager, Apprenticeships and Employer Engagement – david.pearham@thebcc.ac.uk

ADMINISTRATION TEAM

  • Laura Barry – Admissions Officer – laura.barry@thebcc.ac.uk
  • Aliza Akter – Administrator – aliza.akter@thebcc.ac.uk
  • Tracey Newman – Receptionist – tracey.newman@thebcc.ac.uk
  • Helene Chernack – Receptionist – helene.chernack@thebcc.ac.uk

GENERAL ENQUIRIES, MARKETING & DEVELOPMENT

  • General enquiries – info@thebcc.ac.uk
  • Admissions – admissions@thebcc.ac.uk
  • Marketing & Development – marketing@thebcc.ac.uk

WOOD OCCUPATIONS

A variety of wood occupations courses, including carpentry, joinery, wood machining and furniture making is delivered by a talented team of experienced tutors. They deliver high quality training that has earned the BCC a reputation as a top provider of timber-based courses and apprenticeships.

  • Andy Mayes – Tutor, Bench Joinery and Wood Cutting Machinery – andy.mayes@thebcc.ac.uk
  • Travis Warrington – Tutor, Apprenticeships – travis.warrington@thebcc.ac.uk
  • Anthony Lainson – Tutor, Carpentry and Joinery –  ant.lainson@thebcc.ac.uk
  • Will Nixon – Tutor, Carpentry and Joinery – will.nixon@thebcc.ac.uk
  • Errol Boswell – Technician – errol.boswell@thebcc.ac.uk
  • Ruth Thomson – Tutor, Carpentry and Joinery – ruth.thomson@thebcc.ac.uk
  • Chris Ward – Carpentry, Schools Programme – chris.ward@thebcc.ac.uk
  • Patrick Lear – Technician in Wood Turning – patrick.lear@thebcc.ac.uk

CONSTRUCTION

The Construction provision at the BCC encompasses a wide range of work including multi-crafts, maintenance, construction operations and concrete formworking.  Delivered at our Gibbins Road Campus, under the coordination of Mick Hedgeland, the courses are attended by apprentices, adults returning to education and school leavers starting out on their careers in construction.

  • Michael Hedgeland – Gibbins Road Campus Coordinator and Tutor, Maintenance Operations – michael.hedgeland@thebcc.ac.uk
  • Darren Oliver – Tutor, Construction Operations – darren.oliver@thebcc.ac.uk
  • Andy Stirrup – Tutor, Formworking and Site Carpentry – andy.stirrup@thebcc.ac.uk
  • Neil Hayman – Tutor, Multi-crafts and Bricklaying – neil.hayman@thebcc.ac.uk
  • Phillip Jones – Tutor, Formwork – phillip.jones@thebcc.ac.uk

STONEMASONRY

  • Nigel Gilkison – Lead Tutor, Stonemasonry – nigel.gilkison@thebcc.ac.uk

Nigel has developed the Stonemasonry provision at the BCC so that its reputation as a centre for the development of high level skills has increased across the country. Student work is of a very high quality, not only in the individual pieces produced by students but also in the many group projects they complete. Students in the area of stonemasonry benefit from Nigel’s extensive experience in the stone industry.

  • Nancy Peskett – Tutor, Apprenticeships and OSAT (On-site Assessment and Training) – nancy.peskett@thebcc.ac.uk
  • Adeline Wartner – Tutor – adeline.wartner@thebcc.ac.uk

FINE WOODWORK AND FURNITURE MAKING

  • Neil Austin – Lead Tutor, Fine Woodwork and Furniture Making – neil.austin@thebcc.ac.uk

Neil is an experienced furniture maker and designer who was programme leader at Bucks University before joining the BCC this year. He brings a wealth of experience in furniture training as well as design skills. We look forward to him developing our Fine Woodwork Programme so that its national reputation is even further advanced.

  • Robin Clifton – Tutor, Fine Woodwork – robin.clifton@thebcc.ac.uk
  • Cheryl Mattey – Tutor, Fine Woodwork – cheryl.mattery@thebcc.ac.uk
  • Kate Payne – Tutor, Furniture Making and Wood Turning – kate.payne@thebcc.ac.uk
  • Saena Ku – Evening Class Tutor, Wood Carving – saena.ku@thebcc.ac.uk
  • Joseph Sheils – Maker in Residence – joe.sheils@thebcc.ac.uk
  • Sapphire Hales – Maker in Residence – sapphire.hales@thebcc.ac.uk
  • Wilfe Gorlin – Evening Class Tutor – wilfe.gorlin@thebcc.ac.uk 

CONSERVATION 

See the Heritage and Conservation Section for the range of specialist courses and apprenticeships delivered in this sector.

  • Steve Houchin – Lead Tutor, Heritage and Conservation steve.houchin@thebcc.ac.uk
  • Peter Lakin – Tutor, Heritage and Conservation – peter.lakin@thebcc.ac.uk
  • Bruce Induni – Tutor, Heritage and Conservation – bruce.induni@thebcc.ac.uk

LEARNER TEAM

  • Funda Ozturk – Tutor Maths – funda.ozturk@thebcc.ac.uk
  • Sue Miller – Tutor, Maths sue.miller@thebcc.ac.uk
  • Arthur De Graft-Rosenior – Tutor, English – arthur.deg-rosenior@thebcc.ac.uk
  • Janet Oliver – Tutor, English – janet.oliver@thebcc.ac.uk
  • Doris Simon – College Internal Verifier – doris.simon@thebcc.ac.uk

WELFARE TEAM

  • Ellie Dennis – Student Welfare Coordinator (PDBW) – ellie.dennis@thebcc.ac.uk
  • Sarah-Louise Robson – College Counsellor – sarahlouise.robson@thebcc.ac.uk
  • Faye Ogden – College Counsellor – faye.ogden@thebcc.ac.uk

SITE TEAM

  • Paul Stringer – Site Manager – paul.stringer@thebcc.ac.uk
  • Claudia Massanga Gomes – Canteen Supervisor- claudia.gomes@thebcc.ac.uk
  • Susette Vaz Soares – Canteen Supervisor- susete.vazsoares@thebcc.ac.uk
  • Lurdes Chaves (Canteen Assistant) – lurdes.chaves@thebcc.ac.uk
  • Nicola Hodgson – Cleaner – nicola.hodgson@thebcc.ac.uk
  • Rosalyn Scott – Cleaner – rosalyn.scott@thebcc.ac.uk
  • Delcina Jordan – Cleaner – delcina.jordan@thebcc.ac.uk
  • Ryan Hedgeland Site Maintenance Apprentice – ryan.hedgeland@thebcc.ac.uk